Click on a link to be taken to the entry below.
General Tuition and Fees
General tuition and fee rates are established by the State Legislature and miscellaneous fees are set by the CWU Board of Trustees. The tuition rates shown below are an estimate. All tuition and fees are subject to change without notice.
Tuition rates for 2021-2022 are not available at this time.
Click here for information about Online Payments.
Undergraduate and post-baccalaureate
students registering for 10-18 credits:
Quarterly tuition fees for residents of the state of Washington $2,105.90
Quarterly tuition fees for nonresidents of the state of Washington $7,333.00
Undergraduate and post-baccalaureate
students registering for nine credits or less:
Resident: Each credit, $210.59
Minimum of $421.18
Nonresident: Each credit, $733.30
Minimum of $1,466.60
Graduate (Master’s Degree)
students registering for 10-18 credits:
Resident graduate: $3,194.00
Nonresident graduate: $7,482.00
Graduate (Master’s Degree)
students registering for nine credits or less:
Resident graduate: Each credit, $319.40
Minimum of $638.80
Nonresident graduate: Each credit, $748.20
Minimum of $1,496.40
Students registering for more than 18 credits:
Undergraduate and post-baccalaureate,
Resident: Each credit over 18, $210.59
Nonresident: Each credit over 18, $733.30
Resident graduate: Each credit over 18, $319.40
Nonresident graduate: Each credit over 18, $748.20
Continuing Education Tuition Fees
All courses taught through the Office of Continuing Education are self-supporting. The waiver for veterans, university staff and senior citizens does not apply. Full fee-paying students must make additional payments at the rate established for each continuing education course in which they enroll.
Resident and Non-Resident Status
Washington State law concerning resident classification for tuition and fee purposes, RCW 28B.15.012 et seq., requires that a student “(a)(i) have established a bona fide domicile in the state of Washington, primarily for purposes other than educational, for at least one year immediately prior to the beginning of the quarter for which he or she registers at the university, and (ii) be financially independent, or (b) be a dependent student, one or both of whose parents or legal guardians have maintained a bona fide domicile in the state of Washington for at least one year prior to the beginning of the quarter for which the student registers at the university.” The term “domicile” denotes a person’s true, fixed, and permanent home and place of habitation. It is the place where he or she intends to remain, and to which he or she expects to return when he or she leaves without intending to establish a new domicile elsewhere.
Any change of residency status for a given quarter must be based on written evidence provided by the student on a residency classification questionnaire on or before the first class day of the quarter for which a change of residency is sought. Questionnaires are available through Registrar Services. The burden of proof in all cases rests with the student.
In accordance with RCW 28B.15.014, certain nonresidents are exempted from paying nonresident tuition and fees. To be eligible for such an exemption, a nonresident student must provide documented evidence that he or she resides in the state of Washington, and (a) holds a graduate service appointment, designated as such by the university, involving not less than 20 hours per week; (b) is employed for an academic department in support of the instructional or research programs involving not less than 20 hours per week; or (c) is a faculty member, classified staff member, administratively exempt employee holding not less than a half-time appointment, or dependent child of such a person.
Resident Tuition for Veterans and Eligible Individuals
Effective July 24, 2015, ESSB 5355 was signed into law in July 2015, modifying the definition of resident student to comply with federal requirements established by the Veterans Access, Choice, and Accountability Act of 2015 (Choice Act). The Choice Act requires states to charge in-state tuition and fees to “covered individuals” in order for the Department of Veterans Affairs to approve programs of education for everyone training under the Post 9/11 GI Bill® and the Montgomery GI Bill. GI Bill® is a registered trademark of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). More information about education benefits offered by VA is available at the official U.S. government Web site at https://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill.
GI Bill® is a registered trademark of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). More information about education benefits offered by VA is available at the official U.S. government Web site at https://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill.
A “covered individual” is defined in the Choice Act as:
- A Veteran who lives in the state in which the institution of higher learning is located (regardless of his/her formal state of residence) and enrolls in the school within three (3) years of discharge from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
- A spouse or child using transferred benefits who lives in the state in which the institution of higher learning is located (regardless of his/her formal state of residence) and enrolls in the school within three (3) years of the transferor’s discharge from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
- A spouse or child using benefits under the Marine Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship who lives in the state in which the institution of higher learning is located (regardless of his/her formal state of residency) and enrolls in the school within three (3) years of the service member’s death in the line of duty following a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
The Choice Act does not apply to active duty service members or dependents of active duty service members.
Covered individuals may qualify to pay in-state tuition and fees, regardless of his/her formal state of residence. To apply for residency for tuition purposes as covered individuals, the following criteria must be met:
- Separated from the uniformed services with any period of honorable service after at least ninety (90) days of active duty service. Must provide DD-214 to show separation date.
Uniformed services include: Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, US Public Health Service Commissioned Corps, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Commissioned Officer Corps.
- Lives in Washington and enters a Washington higher education institution within three (3) years of discharge from a period of active duty service.
Enters is defined as the first day of the quarter prior to the end of the third year of discharge.
- Has received a Certificate of Eligibility verifying VA educational benefit.
- Request for Veterans Center to send supporting documents to Registrar’s Office.
- Contact Registrar’s Office to complete additional paperwork firstname.lastname@example.org 509-963-3001.
To qualify as a Washington State resident, a student must be a U.S. citizen or have permanent resident (resident alien) status. A student must also be either independent and have established a permanent home in the state of Washington for purposes other than education at least 12 months prior to enrollment. Verification will be requested.
The spouse or dependent of a person who is on active military duty, stationed in Washington, can be classified as a resident, for tuition paying purposes, by submitting proof of military assignment. A student cannot qualify as a Washington resident if s/he (or parent, in the case of a dependent) has attended college as a resident of another state within a year prior to enrollment; has received financial assistance from another state, including reciprocity awards, within a year prior to enrollment; or possesses a current out-of-state driver’s license, vehicle registration or other document which gives evidence of being domiciled in another state. For further information, contact Registrar Services at 509-963-3001.
Residency questions should be directed to Registrar Services. Residency requirements are subject to legislative change.
Non-Matriculated Student Application
Senior citizens are encouraged to take advantage of the large variety of courses offered at Central Washington University.
Auditing Undergraduate Courses
Persons that are 60 years of age or older and a resident of Washington State may register as an auditor the first day of class on a space-available basis with permission of instructor.
Auditing Graduate Courses
Seniors 60 years of age or older that are a resident of Washington State may enroll in graduate-level courses (501 and above) with the approval of both the instructor of the course and the department chair. Credit earned in these courses may meet undergraduate or graduate program requirements, but not both. Students wishing to designate the course for graduate credit must obtain approval from the dean of Graduate Studies and Research.
The fee is $5 for a maximum of two courses, not to exceed six credits. Any person utilizing this provision taking more than six credits must pay an additional $25 tuition charge.
- Credits may not be applied toward meeting requirements for any degree or for increments on any wage or salary scale.
- Audits do not apply to summer quarter.
- Private music lessons are not available.
For more information go to: www.cwu.edu/ce/audit-cwu-course
Veterans Conflict Grant
Not available summer quarter.
Central Washington University (CWU) offers a Veteran Conflict Grant (amount of available grant is determined each academic year) with the following limitations and requirements:
- Admission to CWU.
- DD-214 Member 4 copy [all grants are awarded on information that the Department of Defense (DOD) codes on each DD-214 - Honorable/General (Under Honorable Conditions)] (Active Duty - copy of current orders).
- Veteran must be a Washington State Resident.
- Veteran must complete the FAFSA-Financial Aid Application each year.
- Minimum enrollment must be halftime (6 credits)
- The Veteran of Foreign Conflict Waiver/Central Grant can be received for up to 225 quarter credits.
This grant replaces all other military conflict waivers awarded in the past by CWU. For further information, contact the Veterans Center at 509-963-3028 or e-mail email@example.com or check the website at: www.cwu.edu/veterans.
Children and Spouse of Totally Disabled or POW/MIA or Deceased Eligible Veterans or National Guard Members
Tuition Waiver: The Washington State legislature RCW 28B.15.621 established this waiver to honor active and reserve veterans, National Guard members and their dependents. This is a mandatory tuition waiver for the children and spouse of totally disabled or POW/MIA or deceased eligible veterans or National Guard Members. Children, Spouse and Veteran must be Washington State residents. This waiver can only be applied within the current academic year.
- Child and spouse of an eligible veteran or National Guard member who became totally disabled;
- Child and spouse of an eligible veteran or National Guard member determined to be a prisoner of war or missing in action;
- Child and spouse of an eligible veteran or National Guard member who lost his or her life;
- The Washington State Disabled Veteran Dependent Tuition Waiver can be received up to 200 quarter credits or in the case of the child, until they turn 26 years old.
- Child is defined as a biological child, adopted child, or stepchild.
- Subject to amounts appropriated, student shall also receive a stipend for textbooks and course materials in the amount of five hundred dollars per academic year, to be divided equally among academic terms and prorated for part-time enrollment.
For more information, contact the Veterans Center at 509-963-3028 or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org, or check the website at www.cwu.edu/veterans.
Washington State Employee Tuition Waiver
Educating the citizens of Washington State is integral to Central Washington University’s mission. CWU encourages and supports its employees, as well as non-CWU state employees and others as allowed by law, to continue their education as prescribed through this educational benefits policy. Central Washington University provides educational benefits for Central Washington University faculty, exempt, and classified staff, non-CWU state employees, members of the Washington National Guard, and veterans (as defined by 41.04.005 RCW) who are not eligible for educational benefits from the Veteran’s Administration. Eligible employees (CWU and state) must hold appointment to a half-time or more position. In addition, civil service employees must have permanent status (i.e., passed their probationary period). Faculty and exempt employees who are employed half time or more and are expected to be employed for more than six months are eligible on the first day of employment. Eligible CWU employees may take up to eight (8) credit hours of course work per quarter. Washington National Guard, veterans, and non-CWU state employees may take up to six (6) credit hours of course work per quarter. Faculty who are hired on a quarter-to-quarter basis will become eligible beginning with the second consecutive quarter of half-time or more employment. For the purposes of this section, employment of faculty in spring quarter and the following fall quarter may constitute consecutive employment.
Employees who are not eligible for the tuition and fee waiver are: faculty on courtesy appointments; retired faculty, staff, and exempt personnel; and undergraduate and graduate assistants, associates, or others holding positions with student status. Employees must meet university admission requirements and file proof of eligibility with the Office of the Registrar no less than 15 working days prior to the beginning of each academic term may take up to eight credit hours of coursework for a nominal fee each quarter (summer excluded). Enrollment is subject to space availability only. Enrollment in a closed or wait-listed course under this waiver is prohibited. A waiver processing fee and course fees may apply. Refer to CWU academic policy: www.cwu.edu/resources-reports/cwup-2-20-090-waiver-tuition-and-fees for further information.
Tuition Refund Schedule
A continuing student will receive a 100 percent refund of tuition and fees if a complete withdrawal from the university occurs prior to the sixth day of the quarter.
A student will receive a 50 percent refund of tuition and fees if a complete withdrawal from the university occurs on or after the sixth day of the quarter and within 30 calendar days of the beginning of the quarter.
There is no refund of tuition and fees if withdrawal from the university occurs after the 30th calendar day of the quarter.
There is no refund for individual class withdrawals after the change of schedule period.
Tuition and fees may be refunded to students unable to complete coursework as a result of medical circumstances or being called to active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States. Students must petition Registrar Services.
Miscellaneous Fee Schedule
Fees are subject to change for the 2021-2022 academic year.
Application for Admission Fee: $50.
Athletic Fee: $56 mandatory fee per quarter for all students. Students with less than 10 credits will be assessed $5.60 per credit. This fee supports student athletics and provides free admittance to all events. Ellensburg campus only.
Audit Fee (without credit): A student enrolling in a course as an auditor is charged regular fees.
Background Check Fee: In order to participate in certain programs/majors a student must arrange for and obtain a criminal background check from the appropriate law enforcement agency. Information regarding the process, requirements, and costs can be obtained through the department offering the program/major.
Breakage Fee: Students enrolled in certain courses are required to pay for any equipment they break. Fees are variable according to the item broken.
Central Transit Fee: $3, mandatory fee per quarter for all Ellensburg students. This provides bus transportation throughout town.
Credit by Examination Fee: Students applying to challenge a course will be assessed a nonrefundable fee of $15 per credit, with a minimum of $30 per course challenge.
Graduation Application Fees: The fee for a baccalaureate degree is $60. The fee for degree reapplication is $20. An additional $12 will be assessed for concurrent degrees and an additional fee of $30 per diploma when requesting more than one diploma for multiple majors. For further information, https://www.cwu.edu/registrar/graduation.
Health and Accident Insurance: Group insurance is optional. An additional premium will allow student dependents to be covered by medical facilities other than the student health center, which is reserved for student use only. For further information, inquire at the Cashier’s Office.
International Studies Application Fee: A fee of $50 per student per quarter for students participating in study abroad or exchange programs.
Late Fee: Students failing to pay their tuition in full by the published deadline are assessed a $50 and $100 late fee.
Late Registration Fee: Students will be charged a $25 per course fee for registration from the sixth through the 10th day of instruction; a $50 fee per course for the 11th day through the 30th day of instruction; and $75 per course after the 30th day. Permission to add courses will still require signature of the instructor or the department chair and the college dean after the 10th day of classes.
Library Fee: $10, mandatory fee per quarter for all students.
Master’s Thesis Binding Fee: Students submitting a thesis as part of the requirements for the Master’s degree pay a fee of $75 for binding of three copies of their thesis. Two copies are deposited in the library and one copy is given to the student. Students not wishing a copy for themselves will be assessed $50. Any students wanting more than one copy for themselves must make their own binding arrangements for the extra copies.
Math and Writing Tutoring Fee: $7.50, mandatory fee per quarter for all students.
Parking: Students using the university’s parking facilities must purchase a campus parking permit.
Recreation Center Fee: $117, mandatory fee per quarter for all Ellensburg campus-based students enrolled for six credits or more.
Registration Cancellation Fee: Students who register and do not drop their classes prior to the change of schedule period and have extenuating circumstances that result in a refund of tuition will be assessed a $50 cancellation fee.
Student-in-Training (Liability) Insurance: In order to register for certain courses, a student must arrange for individual student-in-training (liability) insurance purchased either through the CWU business office or through some other agency. Information regarding types of coverage available may be obtained from the department chair or program director.
Student Medical and Counseling Clinic Fee: $103.00, mandatory fee per quarter for all Ellensburg campus-based students enrolled for six credits or more. Students can see a physician for free regardless of insurance status. Students only pay for testing costs. In order to get this fee waived students must live outside of town or be a CWU employee or staff member.
Student Lobby Fee (WSL): $1, mandatory fee per quarter for all students. This fee supports student lobbying for CWU needs in Olympia.
Supply and Equipment Fees: Students enrolling in certain courses are charged for supplies and equipment not furnished as part of the course.
SURC Building Fee: $69, mandatory fee per quarter for all Ellensburg campus-based students enrolled for 10 credits or more. Students with less than 10 credits will be assessed $6.90 per credit. Students with one credit will be assessed the same as the two-credit fee, $13.80. This building is OWNED by the STUDENTS. This fee pays for operational costs such as utilities and monthly lease. When the building was built students voted to pay the cost of the building and that cost is continued through every year that the debt is not paid off.
Technology Fee: $30, mandatory fee per quarter for all students. Students with less than 10 credits will be assessed $ 3.00 per credit. Pays for student’s ability to use computers, software, and print on campus.
Transcript Fee: $10 for each copy. $18 for on demand or FAX copies. All fees are due in advance. A $2.50 credit card fee may apply if ordering through TranscriptPlus. Other fees apply for express mail. For more information, https://www.cwu.edu/registrar/request-transcripts.
Tuition Nonpayment Fee: Students who have not paid full tuition by the 30th calendar day of the quarter will be assessed a $125 tuition nonpayment fee. A hold will be placed on their student record and they will be liable for 100 percent of tuition and fees. Students will receive notification to their CWU e-mail account. Students must have their student account cleared prior to registering for future quarters.
Web-based Course Fee: $40 per class will be assessed for all Web (WW) courses.
Wellness Fee: $18, mandatory fee per quarter for all Ellensburg students. The wellness center promotes healthy decision making and prevention services, confidential support for issues related to alcohol/drugs/sexual violence. It also provides training for students to handle these sorts of situations. In order to waive this fee, students must live outside of town or be a CWU employee or staff.
Central Washington University Student Financial Responsibility Agreement
1. PAYMENT OF FEES/PROMISE TO PAY
I understand that when I register for any class at Central Washington University (“CWU”) or receive any service from CWU, I accept full responsibility to pay all tuition, fees and other associated costs assessed as a result of my registration and/or receipt of services.
I further understand and agree that any amounts charged to my CWU Student Account that are not paid by the due date shall constitute a student educational debt under § 523(a)(8) of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code that I am obligated to repay. Any overpayment of financial aid or other educational benefit that I receive for any period when I am not enrolled at CWU shall also constitute a student educational debt that I am obligated to repay. All such student debt shall also include any late fees, finance charges, and collection fees and costs as more fully described below in Section 2, “Delinquent Account/Collection.”
I understand and agree that if I drop or withdraw from some or all of the classes for which I register, I will be responsible for paying all or a portion of tuition and fees in accordance with the published tuition refund schedule on the Registrar’s Office website http://www.cwu.edu/registrar/tuition-and-fees. I have read the terms and conditions of the published tuition refund schedule and understand those terms are incorporated herein by reference.
I further understand that it is my responsibility to monitor my student account activity via MyCWU online (https://my.cwu.edu/) and pay the charges/fees by the published due dates. My failure to pay or not receive a bill does not absolve me of my financial responsibility as described above.
If I decide to completely withdraw from CWU, I will follow the instructions at http://www.cwu.edu/registrar/, which I understand and agree are incorporated herein by reference.
2. DELINQUENT ACCOUNT/COLLECTION
Financial Hold: I understand and agree that if I fail to pay my student account bill or any monies due and owing CWU by the scheduled due date, CWU will place a financial hold on my student account, preventing me from registering for future classes, requesting official transcripts, or receiving my diploma.
Late Payment Charge
I understand and agree that if I fail to pay my student account bill or any monies due and owing CWU by the scheduled due dates, then CWU will assess a finance charge at the rate of 1% per month on the past due portion of my student account until my past due account is paid in full. The 1% finance charge is in addition to tuition and housing late payment fees. See http://www.cwu.edu/registrar/tuition-and-fees for tuition due dates and http://www.cwu.edu/housing/ for housing due dates.
Collection Agency Fees
I understand and agree that if I fail to pay my student account bill or any monies due and owing CWU by the scheduled due date, and fail to make acceptable payment arrangements to bring my account current, CWU may refer my delinquent account to a collection agency.
I further understand that I am responsible for paying the collection agency fee, which may be based on a percentage at a maximum of 35% of the amounts collected for first collection efforts (and up to 40% for subsequent collection efforts), together with all costs and expenses, including reasonable attorney’s fees, relating to the collection of my delinquent account. Finally, I understand that my delinquent account may be reported to one or more of the national credit bureaus.
Method of Communication
I understand that CWU uses e-mail as an official method of communication with me, and that therefore I am responsible for reading the e-mails I receive from CWU on a timely basis. If I want to receive paper communications then I need to submit the request to StudentAccounts@cwu.edu.
Method of Billing
I understand that CWU uses electronic billing (e-bill) as its official billing method, and that I am responsible for viewing and paying my student account e-bill by the scheduled due date. I further understand that failure to review my e-bill does not constitute a valid reason for not paying my bill on time. E-bill information is available at https://my.cwu.edu/. If I want to receive paper billings then I need to submit the request to StudentAccounts@cwu.edu.
I understand that administrative, clerical or technical billing errors do not absolve me of my financial responsibility to pay the correct amount of tuition, fees and other associated financial obligations assessed as a result of my registration at CWU.
I authorize CWU and its agents and contractors to contact me at my current and any future cellular phone number(s), email address(s) or wireless device(s) regarding my delinquent student account(s)/loan(s), any other debt I owe to CWU, or to receive general information from CWU.
I authorize CWU and its agents and contractors to use automated telephone dialing equipment, artificial or pre-recorded voice or text messages, and personal calls and emails, in their efforts to contact me.
Furthermore, I understand that I may withdraw my consent to call my cellular phone by submitting my request in writing to CWU or in writing to the applicable contractor or agent contacting me on behalf of CWU.
Updating Contact Information
I understand and agree that I am responsible for keeping CWU records up to date with my current mailing addresses, email addresses, and phone numbers by following the procedure at the Registrar’s Office website http://catalog.acalog.cwu.edu/content.php?catoid=66&navoid=4337. The linked procedure is incorporated herein by reference. Upon leaving CWU for any reason, it is my responsibility to provide CWU with updated contact information for purposes of continued communication regarding any amounts that remain due and owing to CWU.
4. ENTIRE AGREEMENT
This agreement constitutes the entire and final agreement between the parties with respect to the matters described herein. This agreement may not be modified or waived except in writing signed by CWU and the student. Venue for any dispute under this agreement, including but not limited to any dispute relating to the collection of any debt, shall be in the Superior Court of Kittitas County, Washington.