The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
2017-2018 Student Registration Handbook
Central Washington University
  Dec 15, 2017
2017-2018 Student Registration Handbook

Deans, Department Chairs, and Program Directors

All phone numbers are 509 area code + 963 prefix.


Dean TBA 963-1858 HEBE 202
Associate Dean (Interim) Katharine Whitcomb 963-1858 HEBE 202
Art Gregg Schlanger 963-2665 RAND 100
Communication Marji Morgan 963-1055 BOUI 232
English George Drake 963-1546 LANG 423
History Roxanne Easley 963-1877 LANG 100
Music Todd Shiver 963-1216 MCIN 144
Philosophy and Religious Studies Matt Altman 963-1818 LANG 337
Theatre Arts Scott Robinson 963-1750 MCCO 106
World Languages and Cultures Laila Abdalla 963-1218 LANG 102
Other Programs      
Africana and Black Studies Bobby Cummings 963-1659 MICH 104
Asia/Pacific Studies Jeffrey Dippman 963-1830 LANG 337C
Film Liahna Armstrong and Jon Ward 963-1067 BOUI 224
Humanities Ruthi Erdman 963-1538 LANG 103E
Latino and Latin American Studies Stella Moreno 963-3347 LANG 102H


Dean Kathryn Martell 963-1955 SHAW 129
Associate Dean Jeff Stinson 963-1955 SHAW 126
Accounting Kenneth Smith 963-3815 DESM
Economics Carlo Smith 963-1955 DESM
Finance and Supply Chain Management Carlo Smith 963-1955 DESM
Management Wendy Cook 963-1955 DESM


Dean Paul Ballard 963-1411 BLAC 228
Associate Dean Ethan Bergman 963-1411 BLAC 228
Director of the School of Education Mindie Dieu 963-1411 BLAC 228
Aerospace Studies (Air Force ROTC) Lt. Col. Richard Warr 963-2314 PETE 203
Aviation Sundaram Nataraja 963-2364 BLAC 225-1
Curriculum, Supervision, and Educational Leadership Ian Loverro 963-1448 BLAC 214-11
Education, Development, Teaching & Learning Denise Shaw 963-1464 BLAC 204-31
Engineering Technologies, Safety and Construction Ethan Bergman(Interim) 963-1756 HOGU 101
Family and Consumer Sciences Duane Dowd 963-2791 MICH 100
Health Sciences Rebecca Pearson 963-1912 PURS 101
Information Technology and Administrative Management Robert Lupton 963-2611 SHAW 223
Military Science (ROTC) Lt. Col. Jonathan Ackiss 963-3518 PEDE 202G
Physical Education, School Health and Movement Studies Heidi Henschel-Pellett 963-1911 PURS 114


Dean Tim Englund 963-1866 DEAN 130
Associate Dean Mike Harrod 963-1866 DEAN 130
Associate Dean Martha Kurtz 963-1866 DEAN 130
Anthropology and Museum Studies Lene Pederson 963-3211 DEAN 345
Biological Sciences James Johnson 963-2731 SCIE 338
Chemistry Anthony Diaz 963-2818 SCIE 302
Computer Science Christos Graikos 963-1432 HEBE 219
Geography John Bowen 963-1188 DEAN 301
Geological Sciences Chris Mattinson 963-1628 LIND 108B
Law and Justice Paul Knepper 963-3185 FARR 300
Mathematics Stuart Boersma 963-2103 BOUI 108
Physics Bruce Palmquist 963-2727 LIND 201A
Political Science Todd Schaefer 963-2408 PSYC 415
Psychology Stephanie Stein 963-2381 PSYC 421
Science Education Bruce Palmquist 963-2929 SCIE 107
Sociology Eric Cheney 963-2195 FARR 416
Other Programs      
American Indian Studies Patrick McCutcheon 963-2075 FARR 409
Center for Excellence in Science and
Mathematics Education
Martha Kurtz 963-2135 DEAN 130
Cultural and Environment Resource Management

Jennifer Lipton and Patrick Lubinski

963-1164 or 3601 DEAN 308 or 338
Environmental Studies Carey Gazis and Pam McMullin-Messier 963-2701or 963-2222 LIND 108B or FARR 441
Ethnic Studies Nelson Pichardo 963-1348 FARR 440
Interdisciplinary Studies Alena Yastchenko 963-3706 DEAN 130
Museum of Culture and Environment Mark Auslander 963-3209 DEAN 334
Primate Behavior and Ecology Lori Sheeran 963-1434 DEAN 335
STEP Colleen Falconer 963-3002 DEAN 130
Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies Judith Hennessey 963-1574 FARR 436


Academic Achievement Raymond Navarro 963-2026 HERT 209
CAMP Miriam Bocchetti 963-1708 HERT 101
Career Services Vicki Sannuto 963-1921 BOUI 206
Douglas Honors College Geraldine O’Mahony 963-1445 LANG 103
Learning Support Services      
  Director Katie Boswell 963-2131 LIBRARY
  Assistant Director (Westside) Sandi Gruberg 963-3827 DESM
  Assistant Director TBA 963-2131 LIBRARY
  University Math Center   963-1270 LIBRARY
  University Writing Center   963-1270 LIBRARY
  Tutoring Services Katie Boswell 963-2131 LIBRARY
Multimodal Learning Christopher Schedler 963-1357 BLAC 127
Multimodal Education Center Chad Schone 963-1613 BLAC 127
Individual Studies Tim Englund 963-1804 DEAN 130
University Centers Melanie Palm 963-1456 BARG


First Year and Exploratory (for undecided students) Director Jason White 963-2722 HERT 107
Professional Advising (declared majors, University Centers, and Transfer Student Outreach) Director Scott Carlton 963-3423 BOUI 205